Important Review Annoucement

Hello, Spongey here.

So, I have an important announcement today, regarding my play by play movie reviews. As you all may know, I do reviews every 4 days, doing 20 minutes of the film each day and posting the review on day 4. I’ve been doing since like…Early 2013, at least.

But if you payed attention at all, you may notice some schedule slip here and there. A good chunk of the reviews come out one day later than expected, and this has happening for awhile now. This is not a huge deal, but it is starting to add up. You may also notice I do other things more often, mostly on Deviant Art where I post those Notepage and 1001 Animations things, and other things ripped off from Mr Enter.

And as of right now, I’m working on a bunch of lists and stuff that is not related to movie reviews. You know, the main thing you come to this blog for. Yeah, there’s a reason for that: Lack of passion.

I’m sure every reviewer suffers burn out at some point. Especially once you get into the swing of things and do reviews all the time. That happens because you are in your prime, getting new ideas left and right. But eventually, things get tiring. Eventually, you just lose that passion you once had.

However, usually it’s not so much lack of passion, as it is just burn out. I have to cover 20 minutes of a movie every day, and with my new interest of other things, that starts to add up. Some may blame these other things for my laziness, as I put so much effort into other stuff that I just get lazy on doing other things. After all, doing all this other stuff proves I’m just 100 percent lazy.

However, that’s not really It. I’m laying low on a lot of that DA stuff, and I mostly am working on some lists and other things now. But the point stands, I care more about that than my reviews.

What I’m trying to say is that I am feeling a lack of passion. But it’s not so simple. I do feel passion sometimes, even now. When in the heart of reviewing something, I have a lot of fun and get that passion back. But the next day, I may me all lazy and tired again. So it’s not even consistent.

At first, all this was due to me moving and having to deal with that. But I’ve been situated for awhile, so it’s no longer that. And hell, it likely is my laziness. I have my computer and TV in my room now, which I now share with my brother. Before, it was a tad different and my old comptuer was slower, so I mostly did Non-Review stuff on different computers and yada yada.

In short, i’m in more position to be lazy now. However, that isn’t really the complete answer. It is lack of passion as well. I just care more about other things, as I’m having fun doing things I don’t do often.

I’ve been doing this reviewing thng the same way for awhile, and it feels like I’m saying the same things, Of course, this isn’t always the case as VHS and Good Ghouls go Bad were pretty different, and as a result, they were fun. I had passion there.

But then you have something like the movie I’m reviewing now, Paranormal Activity The Marked Ones. It’s not quite as interesting as other films I review, (and quite frankly, it’s just tiring me with how typical it is.) and I’m just not working as hard on it. Each section is taking far too long. That happens sometimes, and it does tend to happen with movies like this. It’s not quite as common with things like Vampire Academy.

But look, no matter what bullshit excuse I use, the fact is that I’m a bit lazier. And above all else, lack of passion is a big factor. I have considers flat out quitting the reviews, but then I remembered I have movies I genuinely want to review, and I may miss out on some of that action.

So I decided that I will do what Doug Walker did. As you recall, he quit NC as he felt he was out of ideas, but eventually he figured it out it was just burn out. So he brought NC back and now reviews come every two weeks.

So thus, I will do something similar. Instead of every 4 days, I will do one review a week. So instead of having to do work every single day, I can take one or two days off in the middle. Trust me a bit of a break can do you wonders.

Now, you may think that won’t fix things, as 7 days to do my usual stuff isn’t much better. But it really is. I’ll still the 20 minute at a time stuff, but I can take off say now that I only need one a week. This will start in November, so you will get my last 2 Halloween reviews on time. Well, sort of. Marked Ones is Tuesday, and my final Halloween review is one…well Halloween, this Friday.

After that, my new Schedule comes into effect. Let’s say I did a review every…Wednesday, or so. Then I could simply do my 20 minutes thing for 2 days, take a break for 2 days, and then finish things up, with a day or so to spare. It will always be posted on the day I tell you it will be posted, and since I don’t plan on finishing on the post date, this will give me time to relax.

And hey, with extra time after finishing a review, I can use the time to spell check! …Yeah, no. But I will still use that extra time. In the long run, it will be better. Don’t expect “Better” reviews, just more on time ones.

If you read my recent reviews, they feel the same. At least, I hope they do. So I get the passion when I need to, it’s that…actually getting up and doing them that’s the problem. Having to only do one every week (making for 4 reviews a month, give or take) will fix that problem, since I can pace myself better.

Which day on each week will the review come out? I have no idea. I’m thinkign about it, and I want you guys to suggest a day. Not Monday, as there’s no way I will get one out for the first Monday in November. All other days are fare game, but keep in mind if you picked Saturday or Sunday, the first Nov. review will come out on the first true Sat or Sun on the month. Not the one right after Halloween this week. Cuz guys, I can’t do a review in just one or two days. It’s not possible.

Nowadays, i’m feeling more passions for other things than the usual reviews, but I don’t want to deprive you of those, so hopefully this system will give us a nice balance. Now I have an excuse to work on other stuff all the time!

So yeah, that’s all I got. Suggest a day and ask any other questions if you wish. I still have that official Q&A going on, you know.

TLDR VERSION: I’m doing one movie review a week now because lazy. Tuesday and Friday reviews be normal and it comes into effect in Novemeber.

That’s all I got, so just keep all this in mind. Bye.

See ya. …I said bye twice, in two different ways. Weird.

About Spongey444

I'm 20 and I'm a slightly below average man who can barely spell. I mostly spend my time watching TV and movies, hence why i ended doing a blog all about those things. I tend to have weird tastes, but I like think I'm just fair on things.
This entry was posted in Misc, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

